A Day In The Life Of Scott

If it can't be expressed in figures, it is not science; it is opinion

Two weeks in…

Leave a comment

 

Well, it has been two full weeks of school so far, and everything seems to be settling fine… slowly but surely. It has been especially busy because the courses are new to me and I have had to be extra diligent to ensure that I am not missing anything and that I have lessons perfectly planned. While content is similar to what I have been teaching before, the order of the material is very different. That said, I am thoroughly enjoying this whole work thing. I love what I do, and I am doing what I love, so it makes it so much easier to deal with a little extra stress.

Speaking of stress, I have been trying my damnedest to get all of my paperwork done for certification and payroll. I don’t remember having this much paperwork the first time I was added to payroll and got certified. Just when I thought I was all done the work, I received a phone call in the middle of class the other day from the school division office; they too want some of my paperwork.

It has been an interesting couple of weeks trying to get all of the kids’ names memorized; I’ve made a few small mistakes calling people by the wrong name. Fortunately the kids are pretty cool about things, and they just laugh it off. I should be good by the end of this week, I hope. Then again, maybe not, I have a day away from school on Thursday to attend a “new teacher” conference in one of the neighbouring towns.

James has been a little homesick lately. While he has been having a few small pseudoseizures, we seem to have the epileptic seizures under control. THANK GOD! We had had to deal with enough of those in August when we were travelling and he was running out of pills. That said, I would rather he is having a few small stress-related seizures any day; at least I know they are not going to be tiring him out too much and he can function fairly normally after they are done.

His homesickness is getting to be a little burdensome on me though. I totally understand that he misses Newfoundland and all the people he is used to being around whenever he wants to be, but there is really no need for him to take things out on me. We have been having little scraps here and there and typically over nothing, but he has been very quick to snap back at me, and it is frustrating. I keep reassuring him that it will get easier with time.

I spoke with the guidance counsellor the other day and he will be making regular visits with her each week. I seriously think he needs to do this again. It did wonders for him last semester when we were in Conne.

Homesickness aside, he has been making some friends here in this community as well as at school. Also, the school has transitioned him nicely into the flow of things, which is awesome. I truly believe this to be one of the huge benefits of a small rural school – teachers and students alike are more willing to make new people feel like part of the school community because it is a place where everyone knows everyone else. Students know teachers, and teachers know students. It is very welcoming.

Anyway, I must go. It is warm in this house right now and I need to step outside and get some air. So, until next time, Cheers!

Author: Scott Oosterom

I live in Cut Knife, Saskatchewan, Canada. I teach high school math/ science at Chief Little Pine School in Little Pine, Sk.

Leave a Reply

