A Day In The Life Of Scott

If it can't be expressed in figures, it is not science; it is opinion

Finally Christmas is over.

Leave a comment

Don’t get me wrong, I do not want to come across as overly scrooge-y or anything, but this is one person who is glad that Christmas is over. I did not have the opportunity to travel home this year so it was a pretty quiet Christmas Eve and day. James and I were both wishing that we could be somewhere else for the break, but it just simply could not happen.

Since we both wanted to be somewhere else, it made for a bit of tension in the last week. So much so that I have come pretty close to the maximum dose of defiant teenager that I can handle. I don’t ask him for much, just to clean up after himself, give me a hand with the household chores as they need to be done, and keep on top of his homework. This is really not too much to ask I don’t think, especially since he is really only with me at this point because he needed somewhere to go. I did not sign up for being disrespected and ignored whenever I ask him to do a little something.

Anyways, I know teenagers will be teenagers, I was one once, and I was none too pleasant a lot of the time either; I am pretty sure both of my parents would agree with that one. However, I am not James’ biological parent, so last weekend, after he refused to listen, I pretty much told him outright to start saving his money, because if this crap keeps up he will be homeless, and he will not be staying here, and he will need to pay for his own plane ticket to Newfoundland. I wanted to kick him out last weekend, but even I am not cruel enough to do it before Christmas break. He has been warned, repeatedly for the last week that I am sick and tired of this nonsense, and I have told him that the grass is definitely NOT going to be greener anywhere else. Who else would pay for his $700 seizure meds, let him be on the Xbox constantly, buy him stuff, bring him to doctors and all that other foolishness, plus have full access to satellite TV, phone and internet and a warm place to sleep? NO ONE, that’s who! I welcome him to find grass greener than it is here. I will move out with him if he can find it. Hah!

Anyway, aside from moody teenager issues, our Christmas was actually pretty good. On Christmas Eve we made up some goodies to snack on, veggies ‘n’ dip, cheese and crackers and some perogies. We sat down to eat and watch movies until late. On Christmas morning we slept in, and then opened the gifts that were sent from home. We were invited to my principal’s house for Christmas dinner, so we left for Neilburg for dinner.

We arrived a little early so we could socialize for a bit before supper. Once the rest of the family arrived we all sat down for a delicious turkey dinner. Very classy too. After supper we played a couple board games upstairs, James went downstairs with the kids to play pool and video games. All in all it was a very enjoyable evening.

That said, we both wished we were not here for the holidays, even though it was a good one. It was nice to be invited somewhere for Christmas dinner, and it was awesome to feel so welcome in someone else’s home, but it is still not quite the same as being at home with your own family and all its quirks.

Author: Scott Oosterom

I live in Cut Knife, Saskatchewan, Canada. I teach high school math/ science at Chief Little Pine School in Little Pine, Sk.

Leave a Reply

