A Day In The Life Of Scott

If it can't be expressed in figures, it is not science; it is opinion

The moment has arrived

Leave a comment

The time has arrived; James had to go into the hospital tomorrow for his telemetry. He’ll be hooked up to the EEG monitor and under video surveillance for 5 days. Hopefully they will do something about his medications so that he does not need $700 worth every month. He was in for an MRI scan on Wednesday gone by, so now they just have to do their medicine and figure out what’s causing the seizures. I’ve got to be honest; I was looking forward to a nice week of peace and quiet with no video games off in the distance. It will be nice to have this clean house stay that way for longer than a day.

Clean house aside; after I got home last night it was eerily quiet. Isaac is good company and all, but he is the strong silent type and does not say too much. He just kind of lies around and the follows me around whenever I move.

I spoke with James this evening, and he’s had several seizures since he was rigged up to the EEG and taken off his meds. This is a plus because this is the first time that a doctor has seen him seizure in a long time. Before today, they were taking my word on the seizures, and in some cases (it seemed) not even believing that they even existed. We are hopeful that this week will bring about some change.

I realize it has been a while since I last wrote a post, but it has been a very busy last few weeks. At work I have been trying to get grade 12 courses finished before the end of the semester. The pressure has been on to get them finished, get my exams made, and all the while get all my correcting done and entered into the computer. Junior high classes need to be submitted by Friday, the rest by next week, but it has been a chore to get caught up. I am almost there.

In other work-related news, I will be co-teaching a unit in my gr. 9 science with the principal. While the motive behind it is related to parents complaints that I apparently do not help their kids in class (which I find quite strange since it is not true), I do look forward to this unit. The principal is not convinced the students are right, since she has seen me helping students all the time, even during lunch breaks. It is all good though, I’ve never co-taught before, and this will be a fun inquiry unit on space and the universe to do this with. Since we talked last week, I have been in the process of planning the inquiry unit. I am excited about this, actually.

I know this is short and sweet, but I have to get some more correcting finished before I go to bed. I will have a longer post later in the week or on the weekend. I should be nearly done all the work by then. I should know more about James too.

A teacher’s work is never done. Good night.

Author: Scott Oosterom

I live in Cut Knife, Saskatchewan, Canada. I teach high school math/ science at Chief Little Pine School in Little Pine, Sk.

Leave a Reply

